Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
At the Feet of The Mother


Back ⇑

Ananda: The third of the triune principle of creation other than Existence (Sat) and Consciousness (Chit), Sacchidananda. It is the Delight that is at the origin of creation and runs within it as the sap of existence.

Asura: The undivine titans.

Aswapati: Yogi and King, father of Savitri. Literally Lord of the Horse. Symbolically the Lord of tapasya or the concentrated energy of spiritual endeavour that helps us to rise from the mortal to immortal planes.

Avatar: The Divine Descent upon earth assuming a form and name to redeem earth and humanity.

Bhakta: God-lover.

Brahman: The stable Impersonal basis behind creation. It is the ground of Being on which the dance of Nature takes place.

Darshan: a vision of the Divine.

Deva: The luminous gods.

Dyumatsena: Lord of the shining hosts or the Divine Mind who has lost his kingdom of celestial sight and glory and has thus fallen blind.

Godhead: refers mainly to the Formless Being with a specific function. He can assume many a forms which are then known as gods, for example Maheswari and Pallas Athene are forms of the same Godhead. Of course the gods themselves would have a formless side and they can assume even the forms from the human mind.

Iswara: The Lord in all His Glory.

Iswari: The Supreme Goddess.

Jaganmata: The World-Mother.

Jagatdhatri: The Divine Mother who upholds the system of worlds.

Kali: The Power that changes Time.

Karma: Energy set into motion through speech, will, emotions, thoughts and action.

Krishna: The Being of Delight who draws all things towards Himself.

Kundalini Shakti: The Energy of the Divine Shakti lying coiled at the bottom of the spine involved in matter.

Lila: The Divine Play (referring to the Divine dealings with the world).

Madonna: Feminine power as an aspect of the Divine Mother.

Mantric: Words carrying within them the luminous rhythms of higher states.

Nirvana: A state of absolute stillness, Nothingness, perfect immobility of consciousness leading to complete freedom.

Niyama: Rules to be followed (by a spiritual practitioner).

Purusha: The static poise of the One Reality, the witness poise.

Prakriti: Nature that is the dynamic poise of the One Reality.

Satyavan: The soul of man carrying the Divine Truth within itself but here fallen in the grip of ignorance and death.

Savitri: Daughter of yogi and king Aswapati, partial Incarnation of the Divine Mother in far back times. Symbolically she represents the daughter of the Sun, The Creative Divine Word.

Shakti: The Lord’s Power in all Her Splendour.

Siddhas: The perfect ones, realised beings.

Sri Aurobindo: Name of the Author of the epic poem Savitri, Yogi, visionary, mystic poet, spiritual philosopher, revolutionary, multi linguist.

Supramental Mahashakti: The Divine Mother in Her Supramental poise of Power that upholds all other powers as their origin and support.

Tantra: The path of the Divine Mother which involves among other things Devi Puja or worship of Devi, the Feminine Energy.

Tapasya: The concentrated energy of spiritual endeavour.

Tapas-shakti: Conscious Force of the Divine.

Tapaswi: One who is engaged in tapasya.

Tapaswins: Those engaged in tapasya.

Tapa-Shakti: The power that comes through tapasya.

Tejah: Luminous Force.

Tejaswi: One full of luminous force.

Usha: The goddess of Dawn.

Vedic: Belonging to the Vedas (Secret or Esoteric Mystic knowledge of far back times in India) or the Vedic period.

Yajna-vedi: The sacred altar built for performing a sacrifice to the Divine.

Yama: Restraint (self-imposed).

Yoga: State of Union (partial or complete union with the Divine).

Yogamaya: The power that measures out the Infinite into seeming finite elements.

Yoga-shakti: The Force or Power of yoga, that comes through yoga.

Yogi-King: Aswapati who is both a yogi and a king.

Yogin: One who engages in yoga.