Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
At the Feet of The Mother

The Mother’s Symbol

The central circle represents the Divine Consciousness
The four petals represent the four powers of the Mother.
The Twelve outer petals represent the twelve powers
of the Mother manifested for Her work.

                                                                                         The Mother. (CWM 13:63)

The central circle.

The central circle represents the Supreme Mother, the Mahashakti.

The Mother. (CWM 13:64)


The Mahashakti, the universal Mother, works out whatever is transmitted by her transcendent consciousness from the Supreme and enters into the worlds that she has made; her presence fills and supports them with the divine spirit and the divine all-sustaining force and delight without which they could not exist. That which we call Nature or Prakriti is only her most outward executive aspect; she marshals and arranges the harmony of her forces and processes, impels the operations of Nature and moves among them secret or manifest in all that can be seen or experienced or put into motion of life. Each of the worlds is nothing but one play of the Mahashakti of that system of worlds or universe, who is there as the cosmic Soul and Personality of the transcendent Mother. Each is something that she has seen in her vision, gathered into her heart of beauty and power and created in her Ananda.

Sri Aurobindo. (CWSA 32:15)


The four petals.

The four central petals are the four aspects of the Mother…

The Mother. (CWM 13:64)


Four great Aspects of the Mother, four of her leading Powers and Personalities have stood in front in her guidance of this universe and in her dealings with the terrestrial play. One is her personality of calm wideness and comprehending wisdom and tranquil benignity and inexhaustible compassion and sovereign and surpassing majesty and all-ruling greatness. Another embodies her power of splendid strength and irresistible passion, her warrior mood, her overwhelming will, her impetuous swiftness and world-shaking force. A third is vivid and sweet and wonderful with her deep secret of beauty and harmony and fine rhythm, her intricate and subtle opulence, her compelling attraction and captivating grace. The fourth is equipped with her close and profound capacity of intimate knowledge and careful flawless work and quiet and exact perfection in all things. Wisdom, Strength, Harmony, Perfection are their several attributes and it is these powers that they bring with them into the world, manifest in a human disguise in their Vibhutis and shall found in the divine degree of their ascension in those who can open their earthly nature to the direct and living influence of the Mother. To the four we give the four great names, Maheshwari, Mahakali, Mahalakshmi, Mahasaraswati.

Sri Aurobindo. (CWSA 32:17)



The twelve petals.

…the twelve petals, Her twelve attributes.

The Mother. (CWM 13:64)


Last time I told you I was looking for the twelve attributes (Mother takes out a sheet of paper). Here they are, someone found this.

1) Sincerity; 2) Humility; 3) Gratitude;

4) Perseverance; 5) Aspiration; 6) Receptivity;

7) Progress; 8) Courage; 9) Goodness;

10) Generosity; 11) Equanimity; 12) Peace.

The first eight concern the attitude towards the Divine, and the last four towards humanity.

The Mother. (Agenda 13: January 19, 1972)